Project

General

Profile

Bug #9366

How to commit files after editing

Added by Vadim Mutilin 10 months ago. Updated about 2 months ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Urgent
Category:
Bridge
Target version:
Start date:
11/07/2018
Due date:
07/09/2019
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Detected in build:
svn
Platform:
Published in build:

Description

I've opened file job.json for editing and changed it.
After that I'm pressing 'Save' button, but the pop up dialog says "Are you sure? The file you changed is not commited".
I do not see any button to commit changes


Files

klever-absent-commit-file.png (95.3 KB) klever-absent-commit-file.png Vadim Mutilin, 11/07/2018 06:54 PM

History

#1

Updated by Ilja Zakharov 10 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed

To save files use ctrl+s shortcut. This is correct behavior.

P.S. cannot reject the bug, so keep the status as is.

#2

Updated by Vadim Mutilin 10 months ago

This looks ugly and user unfriendly

#3

Updated by Evgeny Novikov 10 months ago

  • Status changed from Closed to Rejected
#4

Updated by Evgeny Novikov 10 months ago

  • Assignee set to Vladimir Gratinskiy
  • Status changed from Rejected to Open

I thought more about this, let's fix the warning message first of all, since there is no more button "commit", but users need to press "Ctrl+s". In addition, it would be great that Bridge will show this warning in any case when users may loose changes. For instance, when I open another file for editing, changes in the first one are lost.

#5

Updated by Vladimir Gratinskiy about 2 months ago

  • Status changed from Open to Feedback

It is too complicated to prevent selecting new file while another is not commited. Another problem is there is no clear way to check if undoing changes reaches the initial file state, so selecting new file is a good (and only) way to reset all changes. I guess that checking if current file is commited on "Save job" button click is enough.

#6

Updated by Evgeny Novikov about 2 months ago

Vladimir Gratinskiy wrote:

It is too complicated to prevent selecting new file while another is not commited. Another problem is there is no clear way to check if undoing changes reaches the initial file state, so selecting new file is a good (and only) way to reset all changes. I guess that checking if current file is commited on "Save job" button click is enough.

The another problem you mentioned is not so actual from my point of view although desktop editors make all the best regarding it. We have another technique to restore files - to use a job history (versions).

If you fixed the original issue, please, close the issue, but it would be great to open another one that will claim for my feature regarding loosing uncommitted changes when opening other files since this hurts users much. Just one check is not enough and much time can be wasted to redo lost changes.

#7

Updated by Evgeny Novikov about 2 months ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Open

Vladimir, please, mark the issue as Resolved if you implemented the original claim (proper warnings).

#8

Updated by Vladimir Gratinskiy about 2 months ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • Status changed from Open to Resolved
  • Due date set to 07/09/2019

Changed the warning in bridge-3.0

Also available in: Atom PDF